Home | About | Contact | Advertise | AWG Store

AWG Scholarships & Awards

AWG, through the support of our Foundation and esteemed donors, provides several awards and scholarships to deserving women across the globe. AWG’s first award, the Outstanding Educator Award, was established in 1988 to honor a well-established college or university teachers who have played a significant role in the education and support of women geoscientists both within and outside the classroom. Since then, AWG and its associated chapters have added twenty new awards for both students and professionals that range from $250 to $2000! Most recently, AWG developed the AWG Professional Excellence Awards, which go to women who, throughout their careers, have made distinguished contributions. Click on the links below to learn more information about each award or scholarship and APPLY or NOMINATE someone deserving today!

Professional Awards

Student Awards

Chapter Awards

Past Recipients

Encourage Award: Carole Johnson
Exchange Award: Laurie Whitsell
Enhance Award: Mary Hill

AWG President's Award: Rula Deeb
Special Recognition Award: Noelia Carmona
Distinguished Service Award: Donna Jurdy
Chapter Excellence Award: Osage Chapter
Friend of AWG: Richard Behl

Outstanding Educator Award: Dr. Estella Atekwana
Professional Excellence Award in Industry: Tumur Sainzaya
Professional Excellence Award in Government/Regulatory: Lynn Wingard
Professional Excellence Award in Academia/Research: Jennifer Roberts

Brunton Award: Ellen Reat, Alejandra Angulo
Crawford Award: Bryn Mawr, Mosher- UT Austin, Brown- UMass
Chrysalis Award: Bradi Gaer, Anna-Lena Deppenmeier, Alice Stagner
Winifred Goldring Award: Mikaela Pulsipher, Armita Manafzaden
Undergraduate Excellence in Paleontology: Maggie Stephenson, Bryce Mcelvogue
Minority Award: Deanna Flors, Delian Color, Kierra Wilk, Bryttani Wooten
Virginia Sand Award: Abigail Axeness, Patiencce Bosompenzaa
Suzanne Takken: Kendall Valentine Cole, Tshering Lama Sherpa