Home | About | Contact | Advertise | AWG Store

Association for Women Geoscientists Foundation

The mission of the AWG Foundation is to attain equality of opportunity for women in the geosciences and train new leaders by funding high impact programs for women in the geosciences. AWGF funds scholarships, professional development programs, travel grants, awards, and outreach programs. See details on available programs, including how to apply, under Awards & Scholarships and Education & Outreach on the AWG website. Any member with a project that supports AWG's and AWGF's common goals may apply for Foundation funds.

Click here for instructions!

AWG members and chapters are essential to the AWG Foundation. Members contribute one-third of all the funds we raise, and do most of the work of planning and carrying out the programs. AWG's chapters are contributors, sponsors, and organizers. They work with the AWG Foundation to fund local scholarships, awards at local and regional science fairs, and grants to secondary science teachers.

Your help is critical to all of these successes. Every donation makes a difference: $25 can buy a geo-gift or dinner for a science fair winner, $200 to $1000 can provide a portion of an AWG Minority Scholarship for an undergraduate or incoming freshman geoscience major, or fund the Chrysalis Scholarship, which works to remove barriers that women face while trying to finish their graduate degree.

Click here for more information about our awards and scholarships!

The AWG Foundation is a tax-exempt, 501(c)(3) corporation.
Contributions deductible to the extent allowed by law may be sent to:

Kate M. Johnson
AWGF Treasurer

652 Glimmerglen Road
Cooperstown, NY 13326

Click here to make a Donation!

Thank you for your help and support.



AWGF Board Members

President - Jennifer Thompson

Principal Geophysicist

Volume Interpretation and Visualization
Houston, TX
Vice-President - Emily Browning

Biostratigrapher- Geologist

BP America Inc.
Houston, TX
Treasurer - Kate Johnson

Scientist Emerita

U.S. Geological Survey
Cooperstown, NY
Secretary - Stacey Quarles 

Principal Geologic Advisor

London, UK
Past-President - Charlene Sundermann

Compliance Specialist
Ecolab, Global Compliance Group
Director - David Watkins

University of Nebraska
Lincoln, NE